Night Sky

I am a lampshade
and I have a name, George,
but you can call me

whatever it is
you feel so inclined
to call me, because

when you call me
what you call me
I tickle all over

and this feeling
this tickle
feeling all over

is like a freedom
I can’t explain
it’s like a

large weight
drops from my chest
and I

open up
as wide as the night
sky

I just open
up and you
can see all the stars

in my chest
in my beating heart
you can see

all the stars
of the night sky
there, with your
eyes, and it’s

dark, and yet
all those little dots
of light, keep us

company—like
what light does from a distance,
what people fail to provide

light from a distance
and what light implies

Leave a Reply

