Dinner Need I

I hear a need for your dinner
in the shower
without a curtain over my ears

I hear
you need for the air conditioner
on full blast
on this late summer evening

I hear you upstairs on the cell phone
blasting away
at whoever speaks so silent and

waits for a pause between commercials
the need for air
a need for our time together

as priced by the paycheck I receive, I
hear you need
dinner at six o’clock, and who

is responsible
for serving the table, then
to clean up,
scrub down all the counters,

the kitchen itself
and broom then,
dust pan
all of it together, who

calls what it is
when no one else can, like
Mr. Sneeze waiting for a ball room dance with his
wife

Mrs. Sneeze waiting in the west wing for an indication it’s okay to leave
the dragon’s layer,
but before that

I hear you need I
hear you
need I hear you
need I hear you
you I hear

you I hear you
need I
dinner at 6 o’clock,
guess who’ll be there to serve you

and guess who’ll be there, you’ll
never believe
you’ll never believe who’ll
be there to serve you

I hear you need dinner at six o’clock
with Mr. Sneeze and Mrs. Sneeze as your guests,
I’ll feed you

and I’ll clean for you
and I’ll take complete responsibility for you
for you are no one

but your inability to do so
now laugh

Leave a Reply

